Youtube

Youtube is a video sharing website that was launched in May 2005, since its creation  users can create, watch and share millions of videos each day (Youtube 2015). It is a great service as videos can reach huge numbers of views very quickly, this is because users can quickly share videos on other social media platforms such as Facebook, Reddit and Twitter. The image below shows the share button found on the youtube page of my video, this means it is extremely easy for these videos to travel across the internet.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 19.46.09
MashableUK (2015b: online) define a viral video as “a video that becomes popular through the process of Internet sharing, typically through video sharing websites, social media and email”. If a business can create a viral video it would be excellent, as it is a free form of advertisement and it can reach a huge audience very quickly and gets a lot of people talking about it. Videos made by businesses can have many different purposes, for example they can be for general promotion of a product or the organisation, or they can be informative videos.

My Promotional Video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIOuE6rpnIk

I created the video above mainly for promotional purposes, I wanted my audience to understand what Keem’s iPhone Accessories do and the type or products that we offer. I could have explained what my products were on my social media page, but I feel that a video is so much more interesting, meaning I have more chance of grabbing people’s attention. I tried to ensure my video looked professional throughout. As you can see in the screenshot below, I did this with clear visuals and sleek background and a common house style.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 19.50.52

I spent a lot of time deciding on the sounds throughout my video, as I believe the music track enhances the video by giving it an element of fun, because with the video being around one minute long I was conscious that it could get boring easily. But the sound involved in this video, does not only refer to the music featured. For example throughout the first twenty seconds the visuals are building up as you can see with the screen shots below, I wanted to match the audio to this and did so with some very subtle ambient sound effects to add suspense. Then once the suspense was over I contrasted that with brighter colours on-screen and much happier music while some of the products that we sell were showing.

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 00.25.13 Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 00.25.30 Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 00.25.45

I included the links below to the store and social media platforms in the video, so that once the viewers had taken an interest in the video, they need to know where there can purchase my products. Also having a large social media audience is invaluable to businesses today, because it can be one of the most effective forms of marketing due to the fact there can be almost no cost (Mashable 2015a).

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 00.04.53 Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 00.05.07

References

MashableUK. (2015a) Social Media Marketing. [Online] Available from: http://mashable.com/category/social-media-marketing/ [Accessed 5 May 2015].

MashableUK. (2015b) Viral Video. [Online] Available from: http://mashable.com/category/viral-video/ [Accessed 22 April 2015].

Youtube. (2015) About Youtube. [Online] Available from: https://www.youtube.com/yt/about/ [Accessed 21 April 2015].

Leave a Reply

